The Anatole Abragam Prize

ISMAR has created the Anatole Abragam Prize, sponsored by Bruker, to pay tribute to the outstanding achievements of the late Anatole Abragam.

Anatole Abragam made seminal contributions to both NMR and EPR and was a recipient of the ISMAR Prize and a Fellow of ISMAR. In addition to his contributions to science, fostering science and people in science was clearly in his heart. With this in mind, ISMAR has established an award for young investigators that will bear the title Anatole Abragam Prize. Candidates will be eligible within 5 years of completing their PhD. Candidates will be nominated by members of ISMAR. The award aims to recognize and foster outstanding young people at a typically very important point of their career.

The Anatole Abragam Prize will be presented during the opening session of ISMAR meetings, as is the case with the ISMAR Prize. The first Anatole Abragam Prize will be awarded in 2013 at the ISMAR Congress that will take place in Rio de Janeiro.

The ISMAR Prize

The International Society of Magnetic Resonance awards a prize, sponsored by Cambridge Isotope Laboratories, every three years for outstanding achievement in the field of magnetic resonance.

2010 ISMAR Prize

Professor Robert G. Griffin is he winner of the 2010 ISMAR Prize. The presentation will be presented at the ISMAR 2010 Conference in Florence, Italy in July. Professor Griffin has made outstanding contributions to NMR spectroscopy, in particular, his successful development of high-field dynamic nuclear polarization (DNP) as a practical method for sensitivity enhancement in solid-state NMR with magic-angle spinning. His contributions have included the design and construction of novel instrumentation for DNP and the use of nitroxide biradicals to improve DNP sensitivity. Professor Griffin and co-workers recently demonstrated the ability of DNP to detect and characterize intermediates in the bacteriorhodopsin photocycle, the widely studied prototype of a ubiquitous family of light-driven ion pumps and a model for other members of the versatile family of retinal pigments, including the G-protein coupled receptors in the visual system.

Previous ISMAR Prize winners

  • 2007 - Seiji Ogawa
  • 2004 - Richard E. Norberg & Irving J. Lowe
  • 2001 - Jean JEENER
  • 1998 - Ray FREEMAN
  • 1995 - Alfred G. REDFIELD
  • 1992 - Paul LAUTERBUR & Peter MANSFIELD
  • 1989 - John WAUGH
  • 1986 - Charles SLICHTER
  • 1983 - Anatole ABRAGAM & Brebis BLEANEY
  • 1980 - Hans DEHMELT & Gunther LAUKIEN
  • 1977 - Robert BLINC & Yevgeni K. ZAVOISKI
  • 1974 - Herb GUTOWSKY
  • 1971 - Erwin HAHN

Magnetic Resonance Awards by Other Organizations

Designed and Developed by Think_Simply